• #163, Kirulapone Avenue, Colombo 05, Sri Lanka
  • +94 112 51 5759


New Committee for SAITM issue

saitmPresident Maithripala Sirisena appointed a committee today (6th Nov.) consisting of nine members and three observers from three relevant organizations to implement the proposed solutions regarding the SAITM and to solve other arisen relevant issues.
The committee headed by Dr. Harsha de Silva, Deputy Minister of Policy Planning and Economic Development and consists of Janaka Sugathadasa, Secretary to the Ministry of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine, D. C. Dissanayake, Secretary to the Ministry of Higher Education and Highways, Prof. Mohan de Silva, Chairman, University Grant Commission, Prof. Colvin Gunaratne, Chairman, Sri Lanka Medical Council, Prof. Lakshman Dissanayake, Vice Chancellor, University of Colombo, Prof. Sampath Amaratunga, Vice Chancellor, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Prof. Jenifer Perera, Dean, University of Colombo, Prof. Nilanthi de Silva, Dean, University of Kelaniya and observers are from Government Medical Officers’ Association, Medical Faculty Lecturers’ Association and Medical Students’ Parents Association, each.
According to press release issued by the Acting Secretary to the President S. Abeysinghe, President Sirisena expects all students of the government medical faculties would take the above positive steps into consideration and will engage in their studies, for the sake of their future as well as the future of the country.

The department assists media in a macro level in welfare, training, policy planning and accreditation, and providing easy access to Government news and information.