• #163, Kirulapone Avenue, Colombo 05, Sri Lanka
  • +94 112 51 5759


President Sirisena and PM Turnbull agree to enhance cooperation

He news 2017 5 25 11Visiting President Maithripala Sirisena and Australian Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull agreed to expand cooperation between the two countries in several areas. This agreement was reached during their discussions held at the Australian Parliament in Canberra today,‎ (May 25).

The two leaders, after concluding a one-on-one round of talks, held bilateral discussions, in which ministers and officials from both sides participated.

Sri Lanka and Australia signed a joint declaration, a memorandum of understanding and a letter of intent to increase cooperation between the two countries.

These were signed in the presence of President Maithripala Sirisena and Australian Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull.

The Joint Declaration on Enhanced Cooperation Between Australia and Sri Lanka was signed by Australian Foreign Minister Julie Bishop and Sri Lankan Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Harsha de Silva, the MoU on a Cooperative Programme on the Epidemiology of Chronic Kidney Disease of Unknown Etiology, between the Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Organization and the Sri Lanka Presidential Taskforce for Prevention of Chronic Kidney Disease was signed by the ANSTO Chief Executive Officer Dr. Adrian Paterson, and High Commissioner, Somasundaram Skandakumar. The Letter of Intent on Cooperation between Geoscience Australia and the Geological Survey and Mines Bureau of Sri Lanka was signed by the CEO of the Australian Institution James Johanson and the High Commissioner Skandakumar.

Those who participated in the talks were, Prime Minister’s Secretary Dr. Martin Parkinson, Senior Advisor to the Prime Minister and the Cabinet Sean Starmer, Foreign Secretary Ms. Frances Adamson, Australian High Commissioner to Sri Lanka Bryce Hutchesson, National Security Advisor Justin Bassi and Senior Advisor to the Prime Minister Ms. Philippa King.

The official welcome was held this morning at the Government House, where the President was warmly received by the Governor General, Sir Peter Crosgrove and Lady Crosgrove. The welcome ceremony for President Sirisena included a guard of honour, hoisting of Sri Lankan flag by the Commander of the Unit and playing of the national anthems of the two countries. President Sirisena inspected the Guard of Honour while a 21-gun salute boomed the air.

Following the welcome ceremony, a luncheon was hosted by the Governor General in honour of President Sirisena.

A delegation including Minister John Amaratunga, Deputy Ministers Harsha de Silva, Ajith P. Perera, and Member of Parliament Harshana Rajakaruna and High Commissioner, Somasundaram Skandakumar participated on this occasion.


2019.11.22- Gazette- The Public Security Ordinance

Saturday, 23 November 2019 22:23

Presidential Secretarial - Order Call out w.e.f. 22.11.2019, all the...

press release -13.11.2019

Wednesday, 13 November 2019 11:47

press release -13.11.2019

Media Release 2019.11.08

Friday, 08 November 2019 14:49
Media Release 2019.11.08

Election Results Telecasting / Broadcasting Rights 

Press Release - 06.11.2019

Wednesday, 06 November 2019 18:12

False Statement made by politicians and their supporters claiming their...

Press Release- 2019.10.29

Tuesday, 29 October 2019 11:10

Presidential Election- 16 November 2019-  Removal of Stickers pasted on all...

Press Release- 2019.10.25

Friday, 25 October 2019 16:09

Presidential Election- 2019.11.16- Leave to employees to enable to cast...

The department assists media in a macro level in welfare, training, policy planning and accreditation, and providing easy access to Government news and information.